Good movies seen in 2008

I love movies, but I didn’t get to see many films at all for the first 2/3 of the year while I was living and traveling in Europe and had better things to do. None of them were super new releases (as much as I love the Sundance festival I see more through Netflix). I am remedying that now though. I am choosing my next must-see titles from my reaction to Apple trailers and the reviews of the critics I read most: Kenneth Turan, A.O. Scott, Bob Mondello and Roger Ebert. I’m also sifting through Slate.com’s movie critics’ 11-part review of 2008.

From earliest to most recently seen:
The Darjeeling Limited
Spanglish
Death at a Funeral
Mrs. Henderson Presents
Lars and The Real Girl
The Savages
Eastern Promises
The Counterfeiters
No Country for Old Men
Ratatouille
Dan in Real Life
Son of Rambow
In Bruges
Persepolis
The Lives of Others
Be Kind Rewind
The Edukators
Juno
Talk to Me
There Will Be Blood
Priceless
Tropic Thunder
Wall-E
Charlie Wilson’s War
La Ley de Herodes
The Dark Knight
Bringing Up Baby
In the Mood for Love
Aguirre, the Wrath of God
Flight of the Red Balloon
Burn After Reading
Walk Hard
The Royal Tenenbaums
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

If I keep this up, I may be able to watch about 100 movies in 2009.

One response to “Good movies seen in 2008

  1. Pingback: Good movies seen in 2009 « new media mentality

Leave a Reply

